Recent Searches
Clear

Snorkeling Adventure in La Jolla

star-4.570 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Diego, United States
Snorkeling Adventure in La Jolla

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 15 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Wetsuit Rental Available at our shop
8008 Girard Ave , 8008 Girard Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037, USA

We'll meet at our shop - the La Jolla Cove MARKET. It's a small shop a quick walk up from where we'll jump into the ocean! We'll suit up there! There's a big sign that says MARKET. Here's the address: 8008 Girard Ave, Suite 190 La Jolla CA.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Water Sports San Diego
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Snorkeling Adventure in La Jolla?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Snorkeling Adventure in La Jolla.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Snorkeling Adventure in La Jolla?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Snorkeling Adventure in La Jolla.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
70 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 70 reviews
star-5
Must Try!!
Lucky_N
, Aug 2022
Giff and Jake were the best! They were fun, professional, and made the experience worthwhile. I would highly recommend if you or someone in your group has never been snorkeling. Overall, a great experience. One note… don’t expect to see a ton of fish. The sea life in San Diego is kinda boring compared to other places. Definitely worth !!
star-5
Amazing
Tonya_L
, Aug 2022
We had a outstanding time with my family and friends. The tour was very exciting and the fellas were very helpful and friendly
star-5
My Kids Favorite Thing We Did in San Diego!!!
Melissa_B
, Aug 2022
I took my 12 year old son and 17 year old daughter on this snorkeling tour. Both said this tour was their favorite thing they did while we were in San Diego (and we did a ton of things)!! Griffon, our tour guide, was super nice, and made everyone feel comfortable. I would definitely recommend paying extra to rent the wetsuits. They help you stay warmer, and help with buoyancy.
star-5
So fun and beautiful!
Kari_J
, Aug 2022
This excursion exceeded our expectations! My daughter and I did this for my birthday and we both had a blast. Our guide Sean was awesome. I would definitely recommend this if you are in La Jolla!
star-5
Just trying it for the...
Ryan_J
, Aug 2022
Just trying it for the first time was a amazing experience. For sure going again maybe bring some friends.
star-5
Book it!! What a fun experience!!
Suzanne_M
, Aug 2022
We had a blast yesterday on the 9:30 snorkeling/cave adventure with Grif & Jake! Went with my 20 yo @ 16 yo daughters. One did the whole trip, including the sea cave part (which was awesome!) and the other opted to just snorkel along. The guys were great identifying the vast ! varying degrees of all of our experience/confidences, etc. From a midwestern mom’s POV- that was so much appreciated! If you’re considering booking it- push the “buy” button now! You won’t regret it. We arrived @ 8:55, got a prime free parking spot just across from the store/shop. We stayed parked there the majority of the day, not realizing how much of a benefit that would be. We rented wet suits and Ian happy we did. Not having tons of experience in the ocean., having the suit on made us all feel less antsy and uncertain. We got to swim near sea lions, see the beautiful kelp & fish 🐠. Great experience for novice novice snorkelers!
star-1
Need a partial refund
Charles_J
, Aug 2022
I was told by the sales person that if my daughter, age 9, was a good swimmer she could make it to the cave. After getting there the instructor, who was very nice and professional, was honest that it takes about an hour to get there and there will be no where to stand up and there is no flotation device. The waves were very strong to the point that even one adult in the group started crying and could not continue after just trying to get out of the cove area alone. I would like my money back and only be charged for the equipment rentals.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi! We can’t control the ocean, wish we could. We’re always happy to issue refunds if people are unsatisfied; why wouldn’t you just reach out and ask instead of leaving a review?
star-5
Well worth it! Had a lot of fun.
Christine_G
, Jul 2022
Griff was our guide, he was funny and full of great information. It was just my daughters and myself snorkeling so it was like having private tour of the cove. We saw a lot of fish and even a horn shark! Highly recommend this snorkeling tour.
star-5
Great guide and easy everything else!
Ashlee_D
, Jul 2022
Jacob was a wonderful guide. He was personable, fun and had a lot of information about the local wildlife, area and even restaurant recommendations. The conditions were decent but with the low level of visibility we weren't able to see much. It definitely was a cool swim though and with Jacob guiding us it made the swim more comfortable for us. My husband isn't a great swimmer and I get nervous in water I can't see clearly in, but Jacob was able to keep track of us, help me calm down and give us a great time to remember in La Jolla!
star-5
Amazing!
Melany_M
, Jul 2022
Brilliant! I was very lucky that I was the only one who participated in the snorkeling trip at that time. I went with Griffon and it was a lot of fun. He explained and showed me a lot. I know how to snorkel but not professionally. However, Griffon always made sure it was safe. It was a wonderful experience! Absolutely recommendable! Thank you and happy to do it again sometime.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
It was okay.
AJ_B
, Sep 2021
This is for people who are familiar with snorkeling and have experience in it. There aren't any signs that tell you this. If you're inexperienced, not worth it. Finding the place was a bit difficult too. Had to ask where it was. Be prepared to walk to the beach and back. It is about a 5 minute walk. We did enjoy it the best that we could.
star-1
Cancelled. Need refund.
Greg_L
, Sep 2021
It was cancelled at the last minute. We showed up and we were told the tour guide had cancelled. We really wanted to do it. They said viator would give us a refund.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hey Greg. Sorry that we had to cancel. Our tour guide that day ruptured his ear drum , I believe I tried calling you/texting but didn’t get a response until you got to the shop. Sorry about that. Refund was processed last week, should hit your account this upcoming week (Labor Day might delay). Would have appreciated you reaching out rather than a negative review as we did all we could to give you a head start up and these things affect our business
star-5
Iwinderful Advenrure!
Cynthia_C
, Aug 2021
Saw a sea lion swimming under me and felt safe with Greg as our guide. Wonderful adventure. Disappointed a bit the surf was too high to go into the caves but that’s what a guide is for, to make sure you are safe. Saw them rescue someone from the caves the next day on a different tour so happy Greg knew what was best.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome Experience
Mark_R
, Aug 2021
We had an absolute blast. Our guide Edgar was awesome in his instruction. We saw so many different species of beautiful fish. Also had encounter with some seals and sea lions swimming right up to us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome adventure
Rebecca_W
, Aug 2021
Greg was AMAZING! Best guide ever!! It was q wonderful experience we enjoyed the sea lions and all the different fish. We would totally go again!!
star-5
Worthy to go
Camille_F
, Aug 2021
Very nice , beautiful , worthy to go , but if there is a livevast , it would brr we even better …………………..
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
These guys are awesome!
Maria_L
, Jul 2021
Greg and Griffin were so great! The tour, I hear, was fabulous. Griffin stayed behind in the shallows with those of us I dubbed chickens of the sea. He made us feel safe and we had a wonderful time. My cousin was able follow Greg out into the deep end and he loved every bit of it. Bottom line, regardless of your level of experience (AKA bravery) you will have a wonderful time. I'll be doing this again with Greg and Griffin because I know they will take care of me. Thanks guys!!!
star-5
Exciting and fun.
Christopher_M
, Jul 2021
Snorkeling with seals and sea lions. Snorkeling in the caves and viewing the fish. Our guides were awesome and knowledgeable and professional.
star-5
Snorkeling in La Jolla caves
Jocelyn_I
, Jul 2021
Very fun, I got to see sea lions, a variety of fish, and my instructor, Greg, even dove under water to show us an iridescent sea snail shell. He was quite knowledgeable about the sea life and history of the caves. Would recommend!
star-5
Awesome. Great time!
Kellie_S
, Jul 2021
The water was clear. You could see everything. It was awesome. The guides were great and very informative. It was well worth the money. A great time. 🙌🏻

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations